What is diamond Clarity?

Clarity refers to a diamond's relative freedom from clarity characteristics, which are classified as inclusions or blemishes. The clarity grade is a reflection of the purity and rarity of the stone.

Every diamond is unique, no stone is absolutely perfect under 10× magnification, though some come close. Known as Flawless diamonds, these are exceptionally rare.

At Mill & Way we specialise in eye-clean diamonds which means that we only sell stones that do not have clarity characteristics that are visible to the naked eye.

The GIA Clarity Scale contains 11 grades, with most diamonds falling into the VS (very slightly included) or SI (slightly included) categories. In determining a clarity grade, the GIA system considers the size, nature, position, colour or relief, and quantity of clarity characteristics visible under 10 times magnification.

Clarity is graded on a relative scale from Flawless to Included, based on the types of clarity characteristics present and their overall visibility at 10 times magnification.


FL diamonds are Flawless


IF diamonds are Internally Flawless


VVS diamonds (1 and 2) are Very, Very Slightly Included


VS diamonds (1 and 2) are Very Slightly Included


SI diamonds (1 and 2) are Slightly Included

I1 I2 I3

I diamonds (1, 2 and 3) are Imperfect

Does diamond clarity matter?

Diamonds with lower clarity grades can look dull as the imperfections can stop the light from traveling through the stone reducing the refraction and light return.